Tips for persons who are uncertain about what to do after high school

I know many persons struggling to find a career they would enjoy. With graduation right around the corner, it’s a terrifying decision to make since unhappy employees are customary these days. I hope you find these tips helpful:

  1. The most important step in deciding, is to follow your heart. The most common mistake is choosing a career based off what your parents like. If I had listened to mine I’d be doing medicine, something far from what I actually want to do. 
  2. Don’t dare choose a career based off the salary. It might sound cliché, but money DOESN’T bring happiness. Last summer, I had my first summer job. I worked seven days a week, 12 hours a day. The money was good and so I stayed… well I actually walked off the job after 4 weeks😂. However, I learned that I hate retail. So, I encourage you guys to make use of paid and voluntary jobs. You will get a better idea of what you like and don’t like; the work environment and work hours that you prefer before spending thousands on schooling to end up not love it.
  3. Remember to look at the lifestyle of the persons already in that field. Look at the things they did to get where they are. All the obstacles they had to overcome, all the failures and hardships they endured to achieve success. Are you willing to do that to get there? If not, either increase your determination and perseverance or find another career.
  4. I need you to know that it’s okay to take a year off after high school to figure out what exactly you want to do. It’ll be a waste of time and money to start post secondary only to find out that’s not what you actually want to do. Taking the year is fine once you’re doing something constructive. Take the time to figure out where you want to direct your life and get a job in the meantime to help pay your tuition.

Remember you don’t have to live the rest of  your life based off a decision your 17-year-old self made. 

-MsDanejraM

If you liked this post, please share and tell a friend! ❤

Leave a Reply

